UFC 128 Results

UFC 128 lived up to the hype surrounding it. The main event between Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and Jon Jones ended with the crowning of a new UFC light-heavyweight champion. The UFC 128 MMA fight event took place at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, on March 19. Here are the results for the UFC 128 MMA fight event.

Jon Jones defeats Mauricio “Shogun” Rua

Many MMA fans thought I was delusional when I declared Jon Jones would be the next UFC light-heavyweight champion . The 23 year old MMA fighter stole the show at UFC 128; manhandling Shogun like no other opponent has ever done before. Jones easily won the first and second round, seemingly the better striker, wrestler and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu fighter. Jones really let loose in the third round, finishing Rua with a left hook and knee combo that forces referee Herb Dean to stop the fight.

Urijah Faber defeats Eddie Wineland

MMA veteran Wineland comes out hard in the first round, holding his own against the former WEC featherweight champion. He starts to fade in the second round and Faber is able to secure a few takedowns. Faber pounds him out for the next two rounds and earns the unanimous decision.

Jim Miller defeats Kamal Shalorus

This was a very entertaining fight with both MMA fighters ready to stand and trade. Shalorus showed his iron chin, absorbing big punches and kicks with ease. They entertain MMA fans for two rounds before Miller finally finishes him off with a barrage of punches in the third.

Nate Marquardt defeats Dan Miller

Marquardt takes a step closer to a title shot against MMA legend Anderson Silva, dominating Miller in every round. Marquardt walks away with the easy unanimous decision, with all three judges scoring the fight 30-27.

Brendan Schaub defeats Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic

Schaub adds a Pride legend to his MMA resume with his win over the Croatian at the UFC 128 fight event. Schaub outpoints Mirko for two rounds, before sending MMA veteran to the ground in the third round with a left hook.


Luis Artur Cane Jr. defeats Eliot Marshall (TKO round 1)

Anthony Njokuani defeats Edson Barboza Jr. (unanimous decision)

Mike Pyle defeats Ricardo Almeida (unanimous decision)

Gleison Tibau defeats Kurt Pellegrino (split decision)

Joseph Benavidez defeats Ian Loveland (unanimous decision)

Nick Catone defeats Constantinos Philippou (unanimous decision)

Erik Koch defeats Raphael Assuncao (KO round 1)

Leave a Comment